Um,Just a little Help?

Posted on Updated on

I have been away from keyboard for so long…and I miss writing so much. I sat today to write something, something nice of course but I couldn’t write anything. I never actually have a plot or an idea in my mind when I write. I just write whatever is in my mind and then edit it to make something out of nothing but today, I am just failing miserably. I even tried to create some silly plot and write it down but no, no good outcome. This is creating some irrational fear in mind, it’s maybe my paranoia or maybe the reality I am so not ready to accept. I just feel that I have lost my so called ‘thing’ in writing. Earlier, till September I guess, I was really regular with my posts. I used to write about everything and anything that would pop in my mind, now even if I forcefully bring something in my mind, I just cannot write about it the way I want. I miss writing stories and abstract articles. I don’t know what to do, can any of you help me?…to regain the tad bit of creativity that I had?

22 thoughts on “Um,Just a little Help?

    Tejaswi said:
    March 15, 2016 at 6:51 am

    Good to see you back, firstly. Second, why would you think that writing about anything at all is useless? Your mind never dries up, let me assure you. In fact, this very post is an indicator of that.
    Third, don’t try too hard. You can easily write what you feel and it would still turn out to be good.
    Fourth, don’t write to impress others. Just write. It really does not matter at all. This is not a thesis or an exam where you will get marks for good writing and demerits if you do not.
    Fifth, writing/reading – the more you do of these, the better you get. If you stop, then it is a little like that RK song – Chalna jeevan ki kahaani, rukhna maut ki nishani… sar pe laal topi russi… (Ok, ignore the last part, I know most of you will not wear red hats hehe)
    Sixth, you are in good company. Lots of people who do not write much on the blogs they started last year, but have since realized that they can and will write on…
    Lastly, be a dear and keep writing, we miss you 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:49 pm

      Thank you Tejaswi… Its just that maybe I’ve raised my bar way too high that I’ve started expecting to much from me and that might be one of the major reason for not liking anything that I write now a days, but you’re right, I should just do it for myself and not for impressing..
      Lots of love ❤

      Like

    Paul said:
    March 15, 2016 at 7:07 am

    I’ve been faced with this problem before too where I sorta forget how to write the way I used to. My advice would be to go back and read your own blog posts and almost use them as a confidence boost/pep talk. You’re a great writing..it’ll all come back soon enough!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:51 pm

      Its so nice to know that even you went through it, quite sadist of me but still, it’s some kind of relief 😛

      I will surely try your technique, I hope it works for me too. Thank you so much Paul 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Vivek said:
    March 15, 2016 at 7:19 am

    It is good that you were busy in the physical world…

    but what were you doing all this time?

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:53 pm

      I wont call myself busy 😛 I’m just passing days doing whatever pleases me. I can write I have plenty of time, its just that i don’t know what to write and how to write. Sighs…

      Liked by 1 person

        Vivek said:
        March 20, 2016 at 1:46 am

        😜😜
        Alright!
        😝😝

        Liked by 1 person

    Richard Ankers said:
    March 15, 2016 at 7:46 am

    You can do it just pick something you like and write away.

    Liked by 1 person

    bino32 said:
    March 15, 2016 at 8:32 am

    We all come to a point where we think our writing isn’t good. Sometimes we’re overly critical and sometimes we’re right. However, not good doesn’t mean it sucks. It’s just not up to the standard we set for ourselves. But that’s okay. It’s also okay to feel drained. No one can write all the time. The important thing is that you don’t force yourself to sit down and write something good. That won’t work. Maybe try some new writing techniques.
    1) Automated writing: sit down and set a count down timer to 3-5 minutes. Then write down whatever comes into your head without editing, adding or erasing anything. Only stop when the time runs out. You can come back later and be try to find inspiration in your words.
    2) Music prompted writing: Set your music player to shuffle and press play. Listen to the music and write down what comes into your mind, e.g. a character, scene, plot etc. You can also skip track or choose a new one whenever you like.
    3) Picture prompted writing: Works the same way as 2) but with any source where you can find pictures.
    4) Take a notebook to a cafe and observe people. They’re often an inspiration.

    Hope any of that helps. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks Bino. What you said above is so true, I can totally relate with it. I’ve been really hard on me lately and have raised the bars really high maybe that’s why I am failing to write.
      I will surely try the techniques you’ve mentioned, they do sound really helpful 🙂
      Lots of love ❤

      Liked by 1 person

        bino32 said:
        March 19, 2016 at 10:04 pm

        You’re welcome. Maybe you can lower your own bars again and raise them along the way. I mean, you don’t start climbing a mountain at the top. Does that make sense? Anyways, good luck and I’m really looking forward to your future writing 🙂

        Like

    Erika Kind said:
    March 15, 2016 at 8:34 am

    Never ever think you lost something! There are other things at the moment that need your attention. When that is gone or when you could dissolve something in your life then you will find the flow of writing again! Don’t force yourself. If it comes, good. If it doesn’t, good! We are here whenever you are ready! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 9:58 pm

      Mam your comment never fails to soothe me. I’m just hoping to get the flow back as you mentioned here 🙂

      I wont force myself, let it come naturally as per its will..it should come but :p

      Liked by 1 person

        Erika Kind said:
        March 20, 2016 at 10:47 am

        It will, just stay open, be a pipeline or a sponge and the inspiration will come naturally! 😊💖

        Liked by 1 person

    theonlysup said:
    March 15, 2016 at 6:50 pm

    Pree my dear.. U haven’t lost it. May be u r exploring other areas of Interest. U will get back to writing with some motivation sooner..

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 10:00 pm

      Not any particular new interest that I recall :p but yea I would like to believe that I will receive a motivational push soon…

      Liked by 1 person

    aishwaryabhuta said:
    March 16, 2016 at 8:45 am

    Dear Preeti,

    The number of comments you’ve received are enough for you to understand how people enjoy reading you. Writer’s block is not a chronic disorder; it is like common cold you could catch anytime and it goes away soon. Relax. It is okay if you can’t write anything for a while. Thoughts cannot be forced; they are like threads which need to be sewn properly to get the perfect dress.

    One never loses one’s creativity; one only reduces or increases its application. All you need is some inspiration to get it all back. Take a challenge, probably- like Potterheads take the 30 days Harry Potter challenge. It will keep you glued to your writing desk as you have to answer a new question every day for one whole month 🙂

    Keep calm. Wait for the one prompt that will get you back on your toes or look for a challenge and get going 🙂

    We’ve missed your posts and we’ll be the happiest to see you back with your Wee Tales :*
    Happy writing :*

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      March 19, 2016 at 10:03 pm

      Thanks Aishwarya!
      I love the use of metaphors in your comment ❤

      I like the idea of challenging myself…it might work perhaps, the idea itself is enchanting…
      I’ve missed writing too, however, I do post wee tales more than other posts. 😊

      Like

    Prateek Kohli said:
    March 20, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Hi, May I suggest something? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

