The jack of all or The master of one?

Posted on Updated on

Everything was so distorted but yet so normal that time. It didn’t seem wrong as I didn’t know what was right but then I found you and you made me realize what focus feels like. Your attainment helped me find some clarity in my life and striving for you made me feel so enthusiastic and energetic at the same time. There is clear vision, a sight which I want to cherish all my life. People call you ‘Aim’ or ‘Goal’ but for me, you’re the ultimatum, the destination where I will get the power to be myself and the power to bring about a change.

The path seems tricky but then that makes it fulfilling. It is way too lucid for my mind. I like feeling this way but then, somewhere I miss the adrenaline rush to do something new. To see other paths and visit a few, but then, there is a fear, what if my clarity diminishes? What if I never find a way to get back? What if the running time leaves me behind flowing ahead with the goal of my life? Will I be able to chase it? All these questions bombard inside and make me decide to stay on the safer side until I reach there, the starting path of my dream life.

I can’t help but wonder at times, what would life be like, if I would have the super natural power of doing various things at the same time without compromising on any at any point of time. This thought seems so enchanting and attractive but then, maybe, I will get so busy that I will end up forgetting myself in the midst of doing things. I won’t be able to cherish any achievement or anything because I will know, there is always a possibility of more and more.

Whoever made us is smart in many ways; he thought through and made us this way, where we can either be the jack of all traits or the master of one.

11 thoughts on “The jack of all or The master of one?

    theonlysup said:
    August 7, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    absolutely wonderful preeti . i believe in mastering 1 skill but also having knowledge of different other skills do help me in many ways . so i welcome your concept .

    Liked by 2 people

      preetixd responded:
      August 9, 2015 at 10:25 am

      In the process of mastering one, it becomes really difficult to learn other things as well, But if one can manage, nothing can be better 🙂 Thanks Sup!

      Liked by 1 person

    gigoid said:
    August 7, 2015 at 4:34 pm

    Introspection, questioning yourself, always seeking to improve, is good… But, speaking from the vantage point of many years of experience, I know the only limits we have are those we accept as limits. Our imagination, and our will, when properly utilized, are, quite frankly, limitless…. I think it was Henry Ford, (who was mostly an ass, but got this right….) who said “If you think you can, or, if you think you can’t, you’re right.:

    Great post; I love to see people looking inward…. Helps them stay centered and balanced….

    gigoid

    😎

    Liked by 2 people

      preetixd responded:
      August 9, 2015 at 10:26 am

      Thanks Gigoid 🙂 I totally agree with what you said here.

      Liked by 1 person

    lifeconfusions said:
    August 7, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    I love the way you so fluidly wrote it, from questions to answers to realizations to decisions. I especially liked the way you ended it Preeti, Once you learn to put your faith and trust in something larger than yourself, you eventually start to attain clarity 🙂

    Beautiful post 🙂
    Have a splendid weekend ❤

    Liked by 2 people

      preetixd responded:
      August 9, 2015 at 10:29 am

      Thankyou so much Zee 🙂 ❤ Faith is the utmost necessity to achieve something.

      Like

    Destination Infinity said:
    September 6, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Whoever made us is smart indeed, because we can never be a master of anything. We can only develop an illusion of being a master at something!

    Liked by 2 people

      preetixd responded:
      September 7, 2015 at 6:43 pm

      This gave me an all together another perspective to think and ponder upon. It makes so much of sense.

      There is always a scope of improvement, so how can one know that one is the master or not? What determines mastery?

      Like

        Destination Infinity said:
        September 8, 2015 at 1:08 pm

        In India we dilute the importance given to mastery as we inherently know that mastery can be used for the good and the bad, and that depends on the person and circumstances.

        I feel mastery in itself is not as important as who gains it and what they do with it. For example, we don’t want mastery in nuclear physics to reach terrorists.

        But why does one want to become a master at something? To survive and thrive. If that can be attained without mastery, would people still want it? Would you want it?

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        September 8, 2015 at 3:38 pm

        For passion for something? To attain the state of ultimate bliss where you cannot stop learning about something which you love. This feeling will make one strive for that level of mastery, which I feel is really abstract. We will never know the point of mastery but still, it can act as a threshold to push ourselves to our full potentials.

        And I totally agree with you, usage matters. With that much amount of efficiency one has the power to utilize it for an overall change.

        Like

Leave a Reply

