I did it

Posted on Updated on

Scratching my head I sat in my class, what so ever the teacher was doing seemed beyond my mind and my heart. When the tolerance level of my boredom vanished, I took out my writing pad and my pen just to start writing, I didn’t care that I was breaking my dad’s promise. He thought it was a waste, it took my time and distracted my mind but little did he know that it is what makes me feel alive.

I wanted to do literature, I wanted to write and I used to just view myself filling books with millions of words of my choice, but then my dreams were snatched and shattered. The burden of prejudices and expectations was loaded upon my petty shoulders. The weight was way too heavy to be thrown away but later it seemed even more heavy to carry on with.

I kept on writing and writing, the words kept flowing and it somehow kept me moving. I was proudly failing in all of my subjects but surprisingly it didn’t matter to me, not even a bit, I genuinely didn’t care. The paradox here was that I was far more happy and content than I used to be when I scored great insignificant numbers known as marks.

Sometimes I used to sit and laugh on my own self. The thing that I was doing was probably more innocuous than anything else but still, I was being so clandestine in it. I had the habit of looking at the people around and the feeling of sympathy for them used to automatically arouse, especially while looking at my dad. His life looked so limited, probably he never did what he loved or maybe, he didn’t even know what he loves. The passion was missing; the fix of doing something was not there, I guess, these were the reasons that never allowed him to understand his own flesh and blood.

I still remember the day when my dad was called in my college. I was standing in front of my principal and my dad. Holding my mark sheet, they both were busy reprimanding me while I was busy thinking the plot of my next story. Accidentally my folder fell from my hand, all my scripts and stories were scattered right there. My dad swiftly picked one of them up, reading them, his eyes became red. He was fuming, the anger radiating was enough to kill me. I was still and scared. Suddenly my phone rang, both of their eyes darted towards it. Cancelling it was the obvious choice but seeing the number, it was impossible to do it. It was from the publishing house. I picked it up with my shivering hands and,

The melodious voice from the phone said, “We liked the book you wrote “why can’t we do something just for the sheer joy for doing so?” We would love to publish it, Come to our office by 6.”

Then and there, my life was made.

Work of fiction 🙂

52 thoughts on “I did it

    chhaya17 said:
    July 2, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    beautiful preeti! congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    charitha subramanyam said:
    July 2, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    Congrats 🙂

    Like

      preetixd responded:
      July 2, 2015 at 3:12 pm

      Hehe! This is a work of fiction 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        charitha subramanyam said:
        July 2, 2015 at 3:14 pm

        Haha …. You are that good ! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        July 2, 2015 at 3:15 pm

        Hehehe! Thankyou so much!:P

        Liked by 1 person

    Erika Kind said:
    July 2, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    You wrote that great. I was getting pretty nervous while reading!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 2, 2015 at 4:12 pm

      Hehe! Thankyou ma’m. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        Erika Kind said:
        July 2, 2015 at 4:13 pm

        Really great, Preeti 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        July 2, 2015 at 4:15 pm

        ❤ 🙂 I was quite apprehensive about this post ma'm but as always, your comment makes me feel motivated to write more and more!

        Liked by 1 person

        Erika Kind said:
        July 2, 2015 at 6:07 pm

        But sure! As long as you write from your heart nothing can be wrong. You are most creative. Don’t ever block that 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        July 3, 2015 at 12:14 pm

        Yep! Thank you again ma’m ^_^

        Like

    A.PROMPTreply said:
    July 2, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Nice…..like the tension all the way to the end…..am glad she’s getting to do something just for the sheer joy of it!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 2, 2015 at 4:14 pm

      Yeah, she is winning life right by doing something just for the sheer joy of it?:)

      Like

    Simpleheadgirl said:
    July 2, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    Hey,Congratulations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Dileep Sankhla said:
    July 2, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    You really made my day 🙂 Follow your heart and use your brain too, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    disha thakkar said:
    July 2, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    Well how I wish this fiction could be a true reality.

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 3, 2015 at 12:17 pm

      Might be for somebody!:)

      Like

    Keya Shah said:
    July 2, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    Heeey! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award 🙂 🙂 https://proseoverbros.wordpress.com/2015/07/02/the-liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    Ashish kumar said:
    July 2, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    very well written… nice fiction indeed… 🙂 hope your book get published too… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 3, 2015 at 12:18 pm

      Hehe thank you Sir! For that I will have to start writing one, then maybe one day!😃

      Liked by 1 person

        Ashish kumar said:
        July 3, 2015 at 1:33 pm

        Hey don’t call me sir… u can address me by my name… 🙂

        Like

        preetixd responded:
        July 3, 2015 at 1:51 pm

        Okay Ashish 🙂

        Like

    Unraveling mystery said:
    July 2, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    Very nicely written,P!
    -S

    Liked by 1 person

    maryam191 said:
    July 2, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    Good one Preeti. You’ve brought up a very nice subject for contemplation. Even if elders don’t force their children, I see them taking up an education that is supposedly expected to guarantee a safer career than something like arts, music, literature etc. They use their own hands to ruin their life. We need to spread this message:)

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 3, 2015 at 12:22 pm

      Its all the society bias and prejudices. The students cant help it, they are burdened with so much of responsibility at a very early stage. Some have to give up on their hobby while the others don’t even have one.

      I wish to live in a society where everything is equally respected and praised, where every talent is given an opportunity to nurture and flourish 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    jennymarie4 said:
    July 2, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    I loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

    Himali Shah said:
    July 3, 2015 at 7:23 am

    Wowowwww. . Preeti I love it.. so beautifully written ❤❤❤❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Ompong said:
    July 3, 2015 at 11:16 am

    Congrats to you, pretty writer! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 3, 2015 at 12:26 pm

      Hehe! This is fictional, nothing as sort happened in my life but maybe one day, someday! :’)
      Btw I love your name Ompong, it is so cute.

      Liked by 1 person

        Ompong said:
        July 3, 2015 at 12:29 pm

        Hahaha! Thanks a lot… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    colinandray said:
    July 11, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    If only that story was true. As somebody once said (in the context of technological progress over the past few years ” We have an educational system that is designed to prepare students for a future which we cannot predict!”
    If only “free spirits” were not only allowed to flourish, but were encouraged to do so! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 12, 2015 at 5:09 am

      So true. If only… The world would have certainly been a much more happy and satisfied place to live in. 🙂

      Like

    loisajay said:
    July 11, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    Preeti–thank you so much for the follow! Oh, I did not want this to be fiction! I was so happy for your wonderful phone call and then…’work of fiction.’ Ugh–no! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      July 12, 2015 at 5:08 am

      Hehehehehe! Someday, I will surely write my story along the same lines 😛 “I did it- NON FICTION”

      Liked by 1 person

    Prateek Kohli said:
    September 15, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    Your thoughts about our education system are always so true and honest. I, too think of this while going to and coming from work if I would ever be able to do what I love and also earn money from it.. I like to think someday I will. But the character of father in your story is so relatable. The maze of life probably never lets you out of the chores.
    Also, No matter how much I believe in you and your powerful words, having a traditional backup won’t hurt 😋
    This is because I felt there is a slight wish hidden in this fiction.
    Finally, I might be sounding repetitive, but I loved it ! You paused my world completely!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      September 16, 2015 at 12:14 pm

      I agree with the “Traditional backup” thing but then, if one is doing what one loves then I think nothing else will matter, but the society it forcefully makes it a matter.

      I have seen artists who just want to create, they are like, we will earn somehow but we will earn only buy creating not anything else. It requires courage you know to break all the bonds and do what you want. Its like to give up to achieve something and when you are giving up then I think you will end up doing your best.

      But then, its easier said then done. Atleast we can do our bit, by atleast just spending little time doing what we love 😀 Life is too short to strive, we need to enjoy it to the fullesh, just ourselves be what we want to. Regret shouldn’t be a part.

      Finally, Thankyouu for pausing your world and getting inside the world of my story! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Prateek Kohli said:
        September 16, 2015 at 2:40 pm

        You know what? I thought I would convince you but after reading this, I am convinced that the backup just pulls us down. Yes yes… well said, Preeti 😃
        I think of this every single day. You made me realize that rather than thinking, it would be better if I utilize that time to do what i love.
        So thank you ! You can see getting in the world of your stories is always my pleasure ☺😃

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        September 16, 2015 at 3:24 pm

        Aye aye captain! Go live your life doing what you love even if it is for part time😋

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

