Just fly away

Posted on Updated on

10542_664872166872368_122708907_n

I feel all almighty and powerful as I hold your freedom in my hand, even though you are meant to fly. Your obsequious behavior is enchanting to me; I certainly can’t set you free. Your wings are my part now; a subtle hold on them makes me strong now, but till when? Till when will I stop you, till when will I cage you? There will be this one day when you will fly off leaving me all by myself.

My heart wrenches thinking the same, the control I have on you makes me feel better about myself. I like the feeling of suppressing, the feeling of being the master of your doings but why do I wish to alleviate this pleasure? It sometimes sickens me but my addiction for the same tricks me to follow it.

The duality of the situation says either I should grasp you much hard or just leave you to fly by your own self, to explore your own world and your own land but then I fear that you will fall, someday hard. Who will be there to pick you up then? I will possibly be long gone.

But then they say, Dangerous freedom is better over peaceful slavery any day.

DAY 2

This is in response to Kritika’s Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge. Her blog is full of wonderful poems and write-ups which actually connects deeply somewhere. Do check her blog! 😀

The challenge is – “Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge”

My Nomination for Day 2 is Shubadha.

22 thoughts on “Just fly away

    shubhada said:
    June 19, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    Preetiiiiiiiii it’s Shubhada.
    And thanks for the nomination. But maybe I’ll respond on it after a month.. I’m too bored of awards and challenges right now 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    shubhada said:
    June 19, 2015 at 5:50 pm

    Wow, beautiful write up! 💝💝💝

    Liked by 1 person

    Erika Kind said:
    June 19, 2015 at 6:14 pm

    Very well done again, Preeti!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Prateek Kohli said:
    June 19, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    Brutally honest ! As always, brilliantly expressed with the tinge of usual violence 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    hbhatnagar said:
    June 20, 2015 at 1:47 am

    I’m nerdy and this is one of my things; when someone’s post reminds me of an Urdu couplet I tend to quote it in comments, not worrying too much about the groans I elicit by my actions, So here goes,
    “Shaitan-o-abu-jahal ki azmat ki kasam
    Sau baar ghulami se bagaavat behtar”- Josh Malihabadi
    “By the glory of Satan himself,
    rebellion and violence is a hundred times preferable to slavery and servitude.”
    There! You’re free to groan! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      June 20, 2015 at 5:33 am

      Why will I groan? I just love quotes and in some other language, it’s like cherry on the cake 😉
      Loved this quote! ❤ I wish to live in a world where we acquire freedom just as right and not by resorting to violence and rebellion, Either it is freedom from self or from somebody else.

      Liked by 1 person

    Kritika Vashist said:
    June 20, 2015 at 3:08 am

    Very well written, Preeti 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      June 20, 2015 at 5:34 am

      Thankyouu so much Kritika!:D This challenge is forcing me to right daily and it is not easy:P

      Liked by 1 person

        Kritika Vashist said:
        June 20, 2015 at 5:38 am

        I do understand,nonetheless it’s bringing out the best in you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        June 20, 2015 at 5:41 am

        hehe yeah! It’s worth it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    Himali Shah said:
    June 20, 2015 at 6:19 am

    Very well done Preeti.. Once again you’ve rocked it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    kriti dhingra said:
    June 20, 2015 at 8:53 am

    Wow

    you have written it so amazingly, preeti.

    short yet crisp.

    great work!

    :).

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      June 20, 2015 at 9:37 am

      Thankyoi so much Kriti 🙂

      Like

        preetixd responded:
        June 20, 2015 at 9:38 am

        Thankyou**

        Like

Leave a Reply

