Beauty, perception and it’s unusual connection.

Posted on Updated on

Little did I know that the days will get so worse and so sad. I did know that I am nowhere near pretty or even standard looking but I didn’t know that my face will be the book of my character. It feels bad, you know, somewhere it pinches very subtly but very harshly. The problem here is that I can’t do anything about it, I am just so impotent. I cannot scrub my skin off or change my face structure; it is real life for god’s sake, not some virtual game where we can customize ourselves, though, I hope we could.

I know, I am cribbing a lot, but it is all that frustration bottled up inside me which is bubbling out. I was not like this before; self pity was not my style but eventually in this period of many years, I somehow ended up making it my style. I don’t know how and when this happened but it just happened. All these years of being isolated and being judged did quite good to me by bringing me kgs of insecurity and pain, but I am glad that I am changing; I am looking at the world through a new perspective and that is because of this one incident,

When I met this young girl, she was really pretty, I would define her exactly how cliché novels describe their main characters. We were just casually conversing on some topic but in between our conversations somewhere I just blurted my jealousy out and it was embarrassing, but the next moment when she opened her mouth, she annoyed me, SO MUCH.

She had the nerve to say, ‘Beauty doesn’t matter, what all is inside matters’

“Well, with a face like that, nothing will matter to you”, I grumbled and just left.

I was rude, I know but in my defense, I was forced to be so.

After few months, I heard that she suffered from an acid attack. Some random stranger fell in love with her, she didn’t reciprocate and hence, as a gift he gave her a distorted face. It disturbed me somewhere, and got me thinking, is beauty a blessing or a curse? I was so confused. Each of my assumptions were being changed by different perceptions.

And just after few days,

One afternoon, my bell rang. I wasn’t expecting anybody that day.

Opening the door, I saw a beautiful big bouquet having Lavenders and lilies lying on the floor, both my favourite. I had never in my life received anything as such, I wondered, if they are from the guy at the gym I have been crushing on since a long time. There was a note, I unfolded it happily. I was so excited.

Dear Kaya,

Remember me? Rhea? You might be thinking, why I wrote a letter to you, well, even I am thinking the same. Thanks to all the ear to ear gossip, I assume you already know what happened with me, No sympathy please! I just wanted to say, Now that I am not beautiful, we can continue our old conversation again, I am ready to defend my perception now!

-Rhea

Her letter titillated something inside me and made me think that she is still beautiful infact much more; as she has her self confidence directly applied on her face.

Work of Fiction.

26 thoughts on “Beauty, perception and it’s unusual connection.

    Pratik Akkawar said:
    May 25, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    Nice! 🙂

    Like

    Prateek Kohli said:
    May 25, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    You are an incredible writer, Preeti. You have a way with words such that the reader is always intrigued to find out what happens in the next line. The maturity of your thoughts shouts through this post. Amazingly written

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      May 26, 2015 at 4:07 am

      Thankyou so much Prateek. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

        Prateek Kohli said:
        May 27, 2015 at 7:28 pm

        It is always the pleasure of your readers 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        preetixd responded:
        May 27, 2015 at 7:56 pm

        This one reader of mine is overly kind :p If there would have been a meter for kindness, you would have been the unit!

        Liked by 1 person

        Prateek Kohli said:
        May 27, 2015 at 8:00 pm

        Hahaha! The world has stopped believing the truth. Going to read another toodletale now 😛

        Like

        preetixd responded:
        May 27, 2015 at 8:06 pm

        Hehehehe! So glad, go ahead! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

    Devendra Kanajariya said:
    May 26, 2015 at 4:46 am

    Beautiful. 💗Love Yourself. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    aishwaryabhuta said:
    May 26, 2015 at 7:32 am

    I have never seen you, but I’ve read you; and I feel you’re beautiful. A beautiful writer, a beautiful thinker, a beautiful person with a beautiful soul. Don’t let anybody get you down. If you believe you’re beautiful, the world too will. I think you are beautiful. And so should you, okay? :*

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      May 26, 2015 at 8:35 am

      Hehe! This is a work of fiction love! 🙂 Anyways, Thanks for reading this post, means alot.

      Liked by 1 person

    rolerrol said:
    May 26, 2015 at 8:24 am

    A very powerful lesson to learn here….Thanks for sharing it!

    Rolain

    Liked by 1 person

    Bobby said:
    May 27, 2015 at 5:20 am

    Good work!! So much maturity in your writing makes it sound more real and Raw.
    Impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      May 27, 2015 at 6:18 am

      Thankyou so much Bobby! 🙂

      Like

    soumichatterjeenath said:
    May 28, 2015 at 10:27 am

    Just as the beauty and confidence of your thoughts are reflected in your post…

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      May 28, 2015 at 10:40 am

      Thankyou so much Saumi! 😀

      Like

    YesterdayAfter said:
    May 28, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    Hi, thank you so much for stopping by my Blog and for the follow! Keep up with your great work I follow 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    synergynow66 said:
    May 29, 2015 at 1:44 am

    Are you not just gifted for all of your 19 year old self/ indeed!
    roy

    Liked by 1 person

      preetixd responded:
      May 29, 2015 at 4:55 am

      Hehe! Thank you so much! 🙂

      Like

    gentlekindness said:
    June 1, 2015 at 5:10 am

    Reblogged this on Gentle Kindness .

    Liked by 1 person

    preetixd responded:
    June 1, 2015 at 5:20 am

    Thanks for the reblog:* 🙂

    Like

    ShethP said:
    June 6, 2015 at 9:57 am

    Beautiful, touching story! 🙂 Makes me want to explore more of your blog… And I look forward to doing so!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

